The Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority
Home » Main

ICJIA announces federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance grant awards for law enforcement vehicles

On Jan. 23, the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJIA) made available, through a request for proposals, $460,766 in federal fiscal year 2008 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant funding to assist local law enforcement agencies with the purchase of police cruisers. Proposals were due March 4.

ICJIA received 315 completed proposals requesting more than $8 million for police vehicles and the equipment needed to make the vehicle patrol-ready.

A maximum of $20,000 was awarded to each agency, and 75 percent of the funds were designated to departments within communities that had populations of less than 25,000.

Grant applications were evaluated and scored based on a formula to determine regional financial need and each agency’s demonstration of equipment need. Agencies awarded will be required to provide a 25 percent cash match from non-federal sources.

The following 24 local law enforcement agencies will receive the initial awards from this funding opportunity:

Alexander County Sheriff's Office Alexander County $20,000
Atwood Police Department Piatt County $17,219
Cairo Police Department Alexander County $20,000
Carbondale Police Department Jackson County $18,750
East Dubuque Police Department Jo Daviess County $15,000
Edgar County Sheriff's Office Edgar County $20,000
Ford County Sheriff's Office Ford County $20,000
Fulton Police Department Whiteside County $15,000
Grafton Police Department Jersey County $14,241
Jo Daviess County Sheriff's Office Jo Daviess County $19,604
Macoupin County Sheriff's Office Macoupin County $18,854
Marengo Police Department McHenry County $20,000
Massac County Sheriff's Office Massac County $20,000
Mercer County Sheriff's Office Mercer County $18,750
Morris Police Department Grundy County $20,000
Mt. Olive Police Department McHenry County $20,000
Quincy Police Department Adams County $20,000
Riverdale Police Department Cook County $20,000
Salem Police Department Marion County $20,000
South Beloit Police Department Winnebago County $17,918
South Suburban Police College Department Cook County $20,000
Stone Park Police Department Cook County $18,644
University Park Police Department Will County $20,000
Watseka Police Department Iroquois County $20,000


View press release >>